# Port of Morrow Special Commission Meeting

March 26, 2020 #2 Marine Drive, Riverfront Center Boardman, OR 97818

PRESENT:

**Commissioners:** Rick Stokoe, Joe Taylor and John Murray

Commissioners by Phone: Jerry Healy and Marv Padberg

Staff: Lisa Mittelsdorf, Eileen Hendricks, Mark Patton and Brandy

Warburton

Staff by Phone: Erika Lasater

Other by Phone: Wendy Neal of UEC and Ryan DeGrofft of Business Oregon

## I. CALL TO ORDER AND INTRODUCTIONS

The special session was called to order by Rick at 8:00am.

### II. POM OPERATING SCHEDULE DURING COVID-19 PANDEMIC

Mark reported that several maintenance shop employees are being cross-trained now at the warehouse so that it can continue to operate. All public meetings will be held via conference phone and we will continue to receive deliveries at all facilities during this time. The SAGE Center and the Administration office is closed to the public, but some staff are working, as long as they can maintain the 6 feet of distance from each other.

## III. RESOLUTION 2020-03 – TEMPORARY SOCIAL DISTANCING POLICY

A temporary social distancing policy was sent out to the Commissioners for review beforehand. The policy will follow all Oregon Health Authority guidelines for social distancing and be posted in break rooms for all employees.

Joe moved to approve Resolution 2020-03, Temporary Social Distancing Policy. John seconded the motion. No further discussion was had, and the motion passed unanimously.

#### IV. RESOLUTION 2020-04 – FAMILIES FIRST CORONAVIRUS RESPONSE ACT

The resolution was sent to all Commissioners for review beforehand. Eileen explained that this act was signed by the President on March 18<sup>th</sup> and it expands FMLA guidelines as well as gives employees an additional 80 hours of emergency paid sick leave.

Joe moved to approve Resolution 2020-04, Families First Coronavirus Response Act. John seconded the motion. No further discussion was had, and the motion passed unanimously.

In addition, Joe moved to authorize a payout on or around December 1<sup>st</sup> of any unused portion of the 80 hours additional sick leave, to any current employees employed at that time. John seconded the motion. Motion passed unanimously.

#### V. OTHER

Rick noted that Morrow County held a workshop yesterday regarding CREZ II. There seemed to be some concern expressed about who should be the renewal sponsors. He and Jerry both commented that at the January meeting, the CREZ II Board had instructed Greg Sweek to move forward with the renewal application. There was no discussion regarding changing the sponsors. That application has not yet been completed. The Commission agreed that a joint City, County, Port meeting needs to be held soon to discuss the application.

Due to the commission's concern about missing state mandated deadlines, they requested that Lisa prepare a summary outlining the steps needed and the dates by which each need to be completed to allow for timely renewal. Because time is of the essence, concern was expressed about changing makeup now, and perhaps voiced concerns could be addressed separately in the Intergovernmental Agreement.

Jerry moved to request that we (1) set up a city/county/port meeting as soon as possible, preferably in the next week; (2) have staff complete the discussed timeline of deadlines; and (3) move forward with a Port of Morrow application as zone sponsor, if needed to comply with those dates. Marv seconded the motion. No further discussion was had, and the motion passed unanimously.

The meeting was recessed at 8:50 am. Executive session under **ORS 192.660**, started at approximately 8:51 am. The commissioners came out of executive session at 9:26 am and reconvened into regular session at 9:26 am.

Joe moved to approve paying out any unused hours of Emergency Paid Sick Leave to all current employees of the Port of Morrow around the first week of December 2020. John seconded the motion. No further discussion was had, and the motion passed unanimously.

There being no further business the Regular Commission meeting adjourned at 9:30 am

Submitted by:

Rick Stokoe, Commission President

Joe Taylor, Commission Secretary